Category Archives: AquaSprint

AquaSprint Gala – 6 April 2013

Sliabh Beagh ASC AquaSprinters on Saturday 6 April 2013 against Limavady SC in the fourth round of the Forest Feast Junior Aquasprint League at Monaghan Leisure Centre
Sliabh Beagh ASC AquaSprinters on Saturday 6 April 2013 against Limavady SC in the fourth round of the Forest Feast Junior Aquasprint League at Monaghan Leisure Centre

On Saturday last 6th April 2013 Sliabh Beagh Asc welcomed Limavady SC to compete in the fourth round of the Forest Feast Junior Aquasprint League at Monaghan Leisure Centre. This was a closely contested gala but on the night Limavady just narrowly won on a final score of 218 to Limavady and 182 to Sliabh Beagh.   Sliabh Beagh swimmers swam brilliantly and for many of our junior swimmers this was their first time competing in a gala. Congratulations to all our swimmers and again we thank all parents who helped out on the day.

Our next gala is on 27th April 2013 where we will host Ballymoney Swimming Club

AquaSprints Swim to Victory!!

Our Victorious Aquasprints

CONGRATULATIONS once again to our AquaSprint squad who had their 2nd gala of the Forestfeast Aquasprint Junior Swimming League.  the following is a report from AquaSprint Coach Dana:  “The Sliabh Beagh Aqua Sprint swimmers swam to their second victory this season against Lecale ASC on Saturday, February 2nd. The gala, which took place in Downpatrick was exciting to watch from start to finish with many close races. Sliabh Beagh especially showed their strength in the relays. A special thanks to those in the intermediate squad who showed their support for Sliabh Beagh and had an enjoyable evening among the Aqua Sprinters. As always, thank you to the parents for their help at the gala. We couldn’t do it without you! An extra big thanks goes to the swimmers for their continued hard work in practice every week. Well done to the entire squad! Final Score: Lecale 186 vs. Sliabh Beagh 214”. Our next gala is against Newry – on Saturday 2 March 2013.

FLAG DAY FUNDRAISING
This Saturday 9th February we are holding our Flag day.   Could all parents collecting at 9am meet in Flemings car park and you will be given collecting buckets.  Parents who are collecting later in the day, please go to your designated area at the time stated on the rota, which is on the noticeboard in the pool.  Many thanks in advance to all who are taking part.

50M POOL SESSION
The next 50m Pool training in Magherafelt will be held on Tuesday 12 February 2013.  This training session will consist of two pool sessions and land work too.   Please confirm with Claire if attending.  Transport and time details will be confirmed over the weekend.

FEES
Fees are now due, Tommy our treasurer will be at the pool on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday evenings.  If you have already paid, thank you.

AquaSprint Swimmers & Parents

AquasprintHello AquaSprint  Swimmers and Parents!

I hope you’ve had an enjoyable summer.  Wasn’t the swimming in the Olympics just fantastic to watch?  The top swimmers were amazing!  I was thinking of all of you for every race I watched; seeing all of those beautifully streamlined bodies (could you just hear me yelling to squeeze your ears between your arms and put your hand on top of hand?!) and incredibly strong butterfly kicks off of every wall!  Did you see how they kept their legs together after the start of their dives?  What about those perfectly high elbows under the water in freestyle?  There were so many smart races, great starts, turns, finishes, fast times, and so much to learn watching those top athletes.  There were mistakes made, too, all of which we can learn from.  I watched an Olympian (Michael Phelps) go from being in first place to finishing second place (200m fly) by five one-hundredths of a second because he glided into the wall at the finish while the winner finished his stroke perfectly and strong right at the wall.  Even champions make mistakes we can learn from!  He turned things around then and won the 200m IM in his perfect form.   Do any of you have some favorite moments from the Olympics?

Now I’m all excited to begin a new AquaSprint season!  The Olympics aren’t motivating just for swimmers, they are for coaches too!  There are a few points I’d like to make before the season begins:

  1. For security reasons, there is a sign-in and sign-out book.  Please ensure your child is signed in at the start of practice, and, very importantly, only signs out upon leaving the building.
  2. Please ensure your child arrives for practice on time. This means being all set to swim (suit and cap on, and goggles set) a few minutes before the scheduled start time.  Per pool rules, please do not let your child on deck more than a few minutes before their start.
  3. Please ensure your child’s swim suit fits properly (Check for wear, as suits tend to become worn through all too quickly.  It helps to prolong their life by rinsing the suits in cold water after each swim).
  4. I strongly recommend a non-cloth swim cap.  The cloth caps don’t stay on the entire practice.
  5. Please adjust your child’s goggles before practice, and ensure they are in working order.  It is too time consuming for the coach to be adjusting multiple swimmers’ goggles.
  6. We will be starting some very moderate land exercises for the swimmers this year.  It should not be strenuous (for example sit-ups). Please ensure your child has a t-shirt for exercising.  It might be helpful to also have an extra towel for them to use on deck.
  7. Should you have any questions or problems during the season, please see the club Secretary (Claire Sheridan).   She will then forward on your information, and will get back to you.

One of our main goals is to teach proper swim technique.  This goal comes before working on speed.  Once proper technique is learned, speed will follow.  We have arranged the swim lanes according to ability.

Linda and I appreciate being able to coach your kids, and the support you give us throughout the season.  We look forward to another great season!

Swimcerely,
Dana

AquaSprints Senior & Junior Time Schedule September – December 2012

 

Senior Aqua Sprints Junior Aqua Sprints
Tuesday 11/9/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 13/9/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 13/9/12 5:00 – 6:00
Tuesday 18/9/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 20/9/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 20/9/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 22/9/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 22/9/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 25/9/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 27/9/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 27/9/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 29/9/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 29/9/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 2/10/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 4/10/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 4/10/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 6/10/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 6/10/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 9/10/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 11/10/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 11/10/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 13/10/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 13/10/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 16/10/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 18/10/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 18/10/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 20/10/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 20/10/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 23/10/12 4:30 – 8:00
Thursday 25/10/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 25/10/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 27/10/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 27/10/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 30/10/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 1/11/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 1/11/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 3/11/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 3/11/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 6/11/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 8/11/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 8/11/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 10/11/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 10/11/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 13/11/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 15/11/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 15/11/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 17/11/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 17/11/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 20/11/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 22/11/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 22/11/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 24/11/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 24/11/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 27/11/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 29/11/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 29/11/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 1/12/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 1/12/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 4/12/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 6/12/12 6:00 -7:00 Thursday 6/12/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 8/12/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 8/12/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 11/12/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 13/12/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 13/12/12 5:00 – 6:00
Saturday 15/12/12 6:30 – 8:00 Saturday 15/12/12 5:00 – 6:00 or 6:00 – 7:00
Tuesday 18/12/12 4:30 – 6:00
Thursday 20/12/12 6:00 – 7:00 Thursday 20/12/12 5:00 – 6:00