Ulster Schools Swimming Success

The Ulster schools swimming competition took place last Saturday 28th September in Ballymena.  As this event took place quite early in the season only a small number of children travelled from the club to compete.  Despite the fact that training has only commenced after the summer break three weeks ago, all swimmers achieved personal bests and many were placed in medal positions. All swimmers finished in the top ten which is a fantastic achievement for the club.

As always in Ulster the standard was extremely high with the top young swimmers competing to be placed, and for qualifying times to go on to the national finals later in the season.

The following swimmers represented their school and the club.

Clara mc Gahon: Scoil Naoimhe Eanna, Killaney –   50 fly First, 100IM First.  Age group 11 yrs

Killian Mc Gahon: Scoil Naoimhe Eanna, Killaney –   50 free  Fourth,   50 fly Second. Age group 10 yrs

Conor Comiskey: Scoil Muire na mBuachailli, Castleblayney –  50 free First ,   50 fly Third. Age group 11 yrs.

Matthew Comiskey: Scoli Muire na mBuachailli –  50 Breast Third,   50 free Fourth. Age group 9yrs

Cara Leonard: St Marys, Enniskillen –  50 back Third,   50 free Second.  Age group 10yrs.

Allison Gorman: All saints ,Doohamlet – 50 fly and 50 back finished in the top ten. Age group 11yrs.

Caolan Roberts:  St Patricks, Shercock – 50 back and 50 free finished in the top ten. Age group 9yrs.

All the above swimmers have gained qualification to the Irish Minors Schools Championships which will take place early next year in 2014.

Congratulations and well done to everyone.


This weekend we have 11 swimmers representing the Club in Swim Ulster’s 1st Development gala of the year, which is being held in Dungannon on Sunday 6th October. Development galas are designed to provide a challenge for young swimmers, new swimmers and those seeking to get a time in their less favourite strokes and distances.  Good Luck to James & Leon Campbell, Matthew Comiskey, Gearoid Coyle, Allison Gorman, Niamh Lavelle, Cillian McGahon, Colleen McGee, Megan McShane, Oran O’Caolain and Lorcan Roberts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.